Emmys 2022: Complete List of Winners and Nominees

There was history made at the 74th Emmy Awards. Veteran actress Sheryl Lee Ralph received her very first Emmy nomination and became the second Black woman ever to win the Emmy for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy, the first being Jackeé Harry in 1987. Ralph rejoiced in song in her incredibly moving speech after she won for her role as Barbara Howard in ABC’s Abbott Elementary.

Another Abbott Elementary win made history when the series creator and star Quinta Brunson became the third Black writer to win the Emmy for Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series and second Black woman to receive the honor, the past winners being Larry Wilmore and Lena Waithe. Brunson had to accept her award over Jimmy Kimmel’s “dead” body which was less than funny but she handled it with class. Zendaya also made history (again) winning the award for Lead Actress in a Drama Series for her role as Rue in Euphoria making her the first Black woman to win two Emmys in that category as well as the youngest two-time Emmy winner in Emmy history.

Another veteran actor, Dopesick’s Michael Keaton also took home his first Emmy, winning the award for Lead Actor in a Limited Series. Other nominees that took home their first Emmys were Lizzo for her competition show, Watch Out For The Big Grrrls, Lee Jung-Jae for Lead Actor in Squid Game, and Amanda Seyfried for Lead Actress in The Dropout.

It was a big night for the HBO anthology series The White Lotus, they swept with 11 nominations and 5 wins. In the drama category Succession took home 3 wins and Ted Lasso led with 4 wins in comedy.

Drama Series

Better Call Saul
Squid Game
Stranger Things
WINNER: Succession

Lead Actor in a Drama Series

Adam Scott, Severance
Bob Odenkirk, Better Call Saul
Brian Cox, Succession
Jason Bateman, Ozark
Jeremy Strong, Succession
WINNER: Lee Jung-jae, Squid Game

Lead Actress in a Drama Series

Jodie Comer, Killing Eve
Laura Linney, Ozark
Melanie Lynskey, Yellowjackets
Reese Witherspoon, The Morning Show
Sandra Oh, Killing Eve
WINNER: Zendaya, Euphoria

Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Billy Crudup, The Morning Show
John Turturro, Severance
Kieran Culkin, Succession
WINNER: Matthew Macfadyen, Succession
Nicholas Braun, Succession
Oh Young-soo, Squid Game
Park Hae-soo, Squid Game
Christopher Walken, Severance

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Christina Ricci, Yellowjackets
WINNER: Julia Garner, Ozark
J. Smith-Cameron, Succession
Jung Ho-yeon, Squid Game
Patricia Arquette, Severance
Rhea Seehorn, Better Call Saul
Sarah Snook, Succession
Sydney Sweeney, Euphoria

Writing for a Drama Series

WINNER: Jesse Armstrong,Succession(“All the Bells Say”)
Dan Erickson, Severance (“The We We Are”) 
Hwang Dong-hyuk, Squid Game (“One Lucky Day”) 
Jonathan Lisco, Ashley Lyle, and Bart Nickerson, Yellowjackets (“F Sharp”)
Ashley Lyle and Bart Nickerson, Yellowjackets (“Pilot”)
Chris Mundy, Ozark (“A Hard Way to Go”) 
Thomas Schnauz, Better Call Saul (“Plan and Execution”) 

Directing for a Drama Series

WINNER: Hwang Dong-hyuk,Squid Game(“Red Light, Green Light”)
Jason Bateman, Ozark (“A Hard Way to Go”) 
Karyn Kusama, Yellowjackets (“Pilot”)
Mark Mylod, Succession (“All the Bells Say”)
Lorene Scafaria, Succession (“Too Much Birthday”)
Ben Stiller, Severance (“The We We Are”)
Cathy Yan, Succession (“The Disruption”)

Comedy Series

Abbott Elementary
Curb Your Enthusiasm
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Only Murders in the Building
WINNER: Ted Lasso
What We Do in the Shadows

Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

Bill Hader, Barry
Donald Glover, Atlanta
WINNER: Jason Sudeikis, Ted Lasso
Martin Short, Only Murders in the Building
Nicholas Hoult, The Great
Steve Martin, Only Murders in the Building

Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

Elle Fanning, The Great
Issa Rae, Insecure
WINNER: Jean Smart, Hacks
Kaley Cuoco, The Flight Attendant
Quinta Brunson, Abbott Elementary
Rachel Brosnahan, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Anthony Carrigan, Barry
WINNER: Brett Goldstein, Ted Lasso
Bowen Yang, Saturday Night Live
Henry Winkler, Barry
Nick Mohammed, Ted Lasso
Tobeeb Jimoh, Ted Lasso
Tony Shalhoub, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Tyler James Williams, Abbott Elementary

Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Alex Borstein, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Hannah Einbinder, Hacks
Hannah Waddingham, Ted Lasso
Janelle James, Abbott Elementary
Juno Temple, Ted Lasso
Kate McKinnon, Saturday Night Live
Sarah Niles, Ted Lasso
WINNER: Sheryl Lee Ralph, Abbott Elementary

Writing for a Comedy Series

WINNER: Quinta Brunson,Abbott Elementary(“Pilot”)
Lucia Aniello, Paul W. Downs, and Jen Statsky, Hacks (“The One, the Only”)  
Duffy Boudreau, Barry (“710N”) 
Bill Hader and Alec Berg, Barry (“Starting Now”)
Steve Martin and John Hoffman, Only Murders in the Building (“True Crime”)
Jane Becker, Ted Lasso (“No Weddings and a Funeral”)
Sarah Naftalis, What We Do in the Shadows (“The Casino”)
Stefani Robinson, What We Do in the Shadows (“The Wellness Center”)

Directing for a Comedy Series

WINNER: MJ Delaney,Ted Lasso(“No Weddings and a Funeral”)
Lucia Aniello, Hacks (“There Will Be Blood”) 
Jamie Babbit, Only Murders in the Building (“True Crime”) 
Cherien Dabis, Only Murders in the Building (“The Boy From 6B”) 
Mary Lou Belli, The Ms. Pat Show (“Baby Daddy Groundhog Day”) 
Bill Hader, Barry (“710N”) 
Hiro Murai, Atlanta (“New Jazz”)

Limited or Anthology Series

The Dropout
Inventing Anna
Pam and Tommy
WINNER: The White Lotus

Lead Actor in a Limited Series or a Movie

Andrew Garfield, Under the Banner of Heaven
Colin Firth, The Staircase
Himesh Patel, Station Eleven
WINNER: Michael Keaton, Dopesick
Oscar Isaac, Scenes from a Marriage
Sebastian Stan, Pam & Tommy

Lead Actress in a Limited Series or a Movie

WINNER: Amanda Seyfried, The Dropout
Julia Garner, Inventing Anna
Lily James, Pam & Tommy
Margaret Qualley, Maid
Sarah Paulson, Impeachment: American Crime Story
Toni Collette, The Staircase

Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or a Movie

WINNER: Murray Bartlett, The White Lotus
Jake Lacy, The White Lotus
Peter Sarsgaard, Dopesick
Michael Stuhlbarg, Dopesick
Seth Rogen, Pam & Tommy
Steve Zahn, The White Lotus

Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or a Movie

Alexandra Daddario, The White Lotus
Connie Britton, The White Lotus
WINNER: Jennifer Coolidge, The White Lotus
Natasha Rothwell, The White Lotus
Kaitlyn Dever, Dopesick
Mare Winningham, Dopesick
Sydney Sweeney, The White Lotus

Writing for a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie

WINNER: Mike White,The White Lotus
Elizabeth Meriwether, The Dropout (“I’m in a Hurry”)
Patrick Somerville, Station Eleven (“Unbroken Circle”)
Danny Strong, Dopesick (“The People vs. Purdue Pharma”)
Sarah Burgess, Impeachment: American Crime Story (“Man Handled”)
Molly Smith Metzler, Maid (“Snaps”)

Directing for a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie

WINNER: Mike White,The White Lotus
Francesca Gregorini, TheDropout (“Iron Sisters”) 
Hiro Murai, Station Eleven (“Wheel of Fire”) 
Michael Showalter, The Dropout (“Green Juice”) 
Danny Strong, Dopesick (“The People vs. Purdue Pharma”) 
John Wells, Maid (“Sky Blue”)  

Variety Talk Series

The Daily Show with Trevor Noah
Jimmy Kimmel Live!
WINNER: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
Late Night with Seth Meyers
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

Variety Sketch Series

A Black Lady Sketch Show
WINNER: Saturday Night Live

Writing for a Variety Special

WINNER: Jerrod Carmichael,Rothaniel
Ali Wong, Don Wong
Nicole Byer, BBW (Big Beautiful Weirdo)
Norm Macdonald, Nothing Special
The Daily Show With Trevor Noah Presents: Jordan Klepper Fingers the Globe—Hungary for Democracy

Competition Program

The Amazing Race
WINNER: Lizzo’s Watch Out for the Big Grrrls
Nailed It!
RuPaul’s Drag Race
Top Chef
The Voice


Get articles sent directly to your inbox.

More good

Follow @everythinggoodmag on Instagram

Everything GOOD

Leave a Reply