Best New Music: H.E.R, Moneybagg Yo, Noah Cyrus, Lil Yachty, + More

Here’s the best new music of last week.

H.E.R ft. Chris Brown – Come Through

H.E.R and Chris Brown work well together. Their first collaboration, “Come Together” was in 2019 on Brown’s ninth studio album ‘Indigo’ which was a chart topper. Now, they’ve come together again (ha, get it), with a new track, “Come Through” (I see what they’re doing there). This new track is a teaser for H.E.R’s upcoming album she announced on her Instagram with a photo of a notebook that has the album title “Back of My Mind” and two track listings. See the Instagram post below the “Come Through” visualizer.

Moneybagg Yo – A Gangsta’s Pain

Moneybagg Yo’s new album A Gangsta’s Pain features artists like Kaash Paige, Future, Polo G, Lil Durk, Jhené Aiko, and Pharrell. The 22 track album includes a few known singles including the hit song, “Time Today”. The music video for “Time Today” went viral after its release with 29 million views on Youtube because of Moneybagg Yo’s response to people comparing his looks to William from Girlfriends. In the video he dressed as William with models by his side portraying Joan, Mya, Toni, and Lynn, in the song he says, “I’m lookin’ like William but they ain’t my girlfriends”. A fan favorite on the new album seems to be “One of Dem Nights” with Jhené Aiko, the lyrics from Aiko’s verse is all over social media and will probably be the #1 caption amongst women on Instagram / “It’s the way you treat my little booty like I got a big ol’ booty”. Moneybagg’s next music video will probably be for “One of Dem Nights” and we will let you know as soon as it drops!

Watch the “Time Today” music video below.

Lil Yachty – Michigan Boy Boat

Lil Yachty’s new 14 track mixtape features rappers from Flint and Detroit, Michigan including Sada Baby, Tee Grizzley, Rio Da Yung OG, and Babyface Ray. The tape also features rappers not from Michigan like hitmaker Swae Lee. Michigan Boy Boat is *insert fire emoji*.

Flying Lotus – Black Gold / Between Memories

Flying Lotus released two new singles from the Yasuke original soundtrack, the new Netflix anime series that’s set to release April 29th. Flying Lotus is providing the music for the soundtrack as well as executive producing the series.

Jorja Smith – Gone

When announcing her new single “Gone” on Instagram, Jorja Smith also announced that she has a special gift for us coming May 14th. The special gift is her upcoming 8 track project, Be Right Back. The last project Smith dropped was her debut album back in 2019.

Cordae – Just Until…(EP)

Cordae gives us inspiration with the stand-out track “More Life” ft. Q Tip and visual it comes with. The music video takes us through Cordae’s old neighborhood and high school as he raps about his past and where he’s at now with the success in his life. The 4 track EP is a preview of his upcoming album which is the reason it’s called Just Until…and the cover says at the bottom:

“See you soon,

Album almost done.”

Watch the music video for “More Life” below.

Noah Cyrus & PJ Harding – People Don’t Change

In a Q&A with Forbes, Noah Cyrus and PJ Harding talk about how their new EP, People Don’t Change came to be. In the Q&A the (now) official musical duo talk about how they wrote the EP over Zoom due to the pandemic, their friendship, and inspiration for the EP. People Don’t Change is beautifully written, Cyrus and Harding definitely make a good team.

The Weeknd ft. Ariana Grande – Save Your Tears (Remix)

After The Weeknd’s collaboration with Ariana Grande on her latest album, Positions, it’s no surprise their making music together again. The original “Save Your Tears” comes from The Weeknd’s No. 1 album After Hours that dropped March of 2020 and the track is still on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. Hearing the remix with Grande’s vocals, it’s hard to believe that she wasn’t on the original, her voice takes the song to another level.

Watch the music video for “Save Your Tears (Remix)” below.

Other favs from the week:

BJ the Chicago Kid, PJ Morton, & Keyon Dixon – Bring it on Home to Me

Amy Allen – One

Max Leone – untitled

Want to keep up with the latest of the good things? Don’t worry, boo. We got you!

More Music

Everything GOOD

Leave a Reply